Skip to content

Prayer for an End to Racism

September 25, 2007

Remembering the courage of the Little Rock Nine, asking for the courage to confront the ongoing blight of racism, I turn to prayer:

Lord Jesus Christ

who reached across the ethnic boundaries

of Samaritan, Roman and Jew,

who offered fresh sight to the blind and freedom to captives,

help us to break down the barriers in our community,

enable us to see the reality of racism and bigotry,

and free us to challenge and uproot it

from ourselves, our society and our world.

Amen.

– John Bucki, S.J. (from Living God’s Justice: Prayers and Reflections.)

I also commit to a small act of change: to voice my objection to statements of racism whenever they are uttered in my presence, no matter how banal they may seem, or how uncomfortable it may be to challenge them. I grew up in a de facto white-only suburb of Cleveland, OH. I’ve heard a lot of racist talk in my life, and let all too much of it go by unchallenged. I have a lot of silence for which to atone.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. gramma77sue permalink
    September 26, 2007 6:39 am

    A lot of silence, and just as much inaction. Speaking up usually helps me move my feet. I “never did” mostly because I never “found the words.” The thoughts were there, and the feelings. This blog will be a favorite turning point for me so I will speak up and act out more.

  2. christy permalink
    October 22, 2008 7:23 am

    Thank You. This is the prayer I needed.

  3. Mickey permalink
    January 12, 2013 12:33 am

    I love this!!! My family is the only black American family in the small town we live in and they have been subject to being called the “n” word or us as a family turned away for care or bullied for inability to pay. My daughter has had friends sleep over our house and has a couple of very good friends, one friend invited another over to her house for a sleep over and told my daughter that I wanted to invite you but my dad is racist. How sad is that we still live in a world/ area that approves this as being ok, or kids that speak out against it to their parents only to be punished for doing so. My 12 year old daughter is hurt and the sad thing is she has grown up with these children since the start of her school career, but the parent (s) won’t except her as a person

    I raise my children to see only people for who they are and for their actions. Not for skin color, we will continue to love these people and pray for the Lord to open their close-minded hearts/minds.

    Thanks for the post.

    Sincerely,
    Momto6children and God fearing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

