Skip to content

Gave Up Blogging for Lent

March 22, 2008

Not intentionally, but that’s the way it’s worked out.

I wish I could say we  have absented ourselves from the blogosphere in pursuit of some much needed reflective retreat and contemplation in preparation for this greatest of holidays that comes so fast upon us. But it’s been some family issues that needed my presence, and alas much, much, much of the usual academic busyness.

This semester has been particularly hard for me as, with less than a week’s notice, I had to pick up a course I have never taught before when a colleague left suddenly for a family emergency — a historical survey of science and technology in society from pre-history to the present, pretty much impossible to teach even with a lifetime of preparation! There is an old saw that teaching is easy, you just have to keep 24 hours ahead of your students. It feels like I’ve been struggling all semester to keep five minutes ahead of my students.

Anyway, checking in to see if anyone has been looking at this humble blog, I find a funny thing — many more people visiting it in my absence than when I was blogging regularly. Clearly I have had the wrong idea about how this blog thing works if less blogging yields more page views. If only I had managed to never post at all this blog might have drifted up to the upper reaches of the blogosphere.

But since I’ve never been too good about knowing when to shut up (what did Mark Twain mean by that business of remaining quiet to keep them wondering?), I’ll try to get back to blogging on a regular basis even at the risk of driving the blog stats down. But probably not so much till May (when academics are free to frolic and play).

In the meantime, if you do find something on this blog useful, do drop us a note of encouragement in the comment boxes. It would mean a lot to know this blog mattered to somebody. It might get even get Annie Wim writing again. She’s stopped posting her backseat homilies since it seemed that no one was reading them, despite my tireless explanations of the power of this medium: what but the wonderful worldwide web would allow thousands of newly created blogs per day to connect with literally dozens of new readers? Of course as an academic, I’m exactly the opposite — the thought that nobody will read my work must be what keeps me going. How else to explain it?

Anyway, we wish you a Blessed Easter wherever you are, and whatever reason you might have for visiting this humble blog.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 24, 2008 5:26 pm

    I wonder if you would be kind enough to consider becoming one of our ‘1001 bloggers’ at http://mencap.wordpress.com

    My apologies if I’ve asked you this before. Through the site we are hoping to link 1001 people who blog regularly and I picked up your blog through the ‘blogosphere’ tag on the wordpress homepage.

    Please take a look and consider joining. Let me know what you think.

    Do email me at david [at] theheads.co.uk if you would like to know more. If you can link to the site or forward this message to others I’d be very grateful.

    Kind regards

    David
    david [at] theheads.co.uk

Leave a Reply

